Let it snow…

 

 

 

Just when we thought we were going to have another snow-less year, here it came, right together with spring.

 

 

 

I remember the year I moved to London, I came in February and the day before my birthday (17th April for the record) surprised me with a snowfall and the biggest snowflakes I’d ever seen.

  

 

So here are a few photos of the event I want to share with you.

 

 

 

When the weather is this cold I cannot think of a nicer and more welcoming food than a bowl of steaming risotto.

 

 

 I love risotto in all its incarnations but this one is a particular favourite.

I got the gist from Nigella but I played around with the cheeses, that’s the beauty of it.

Do me a favour and try it.

 

 

 
 
Three-cheese risotto adapted from Nigella Express by Nigella Lawson

  
 1 x 15ml tablespoon butter
 1 x 15ml tablespoon oil
2 baby leeks (or fat spring onions), finely sliced
300g risotto rice
125ml white wine
½ teaspoon Dijon mustard
1 litre hot vegetable stock
125g Cheddar, chopped (I used Cheddar plus two other Swedish cheeses I had left over in the fridge so I guess you can use pretty much any cheese you fancy). The quantity is also optional
2 x 15ml tablespoons chopped fresh chives (also optional, I didn’t have any as you can see)

 

1.      Melt the butter and oil in a medium-sized pan and cook the sliced baby leeks until they have softened.

2.      Add the risotto rice and keep stirring for a minute or so, then turn up the head and add the wine and mustard, stirring until the wine is absorbed.

3.      Start ladling hot stock, letting each ladleful become absorbed as you stir, before adding the next one.

4.      Stir and ladle until the rice is al dente, about 18 minutes, then add the cheese, stirring into the rice until it melts.

5.      Take the pan straight off the heat, still stirring as you do so, and spoon the risotto into warmed dishes, sprinkling with some of the chopped chives.

 

Serves 2 as a main course; 4 as a starter

 

One thought on “Let it snow…

  1. 第 34 課 - 私 の ブログ! « nihongo blog

Leave a Reply

