Revolution

Today the anniversary of the revolution is celebrated in Argentina.


True, I was not very interested in it as a child or when I was made to study it for school but when you’ve been living abroad for as long as I have you tend to become nostalgic about things that never caught your interested before.


So to celebrate it I am posting a recipe from my country which I made a while ago but which I have been saving for just this occasion.


In my opinion there are few things that trigger my memory as much as Bifes a la Criolla. So much so, that being the translator that I am, I refuse to even translate the title. The term criollo was used to refer to a person born in the Spanish colonies who had “cleanliness of blood” in respect of an individual’s purity of Iberian ancestry.  By default it now means “local” so cocina criolla is the local cuisine. Bifes are steaks and I don’t think there is anything more local than this.


This recipe is another of my staples at home and I am adding it to the blog purely for egotistical and convenience reasons. Enjoy!

 


 

 

Bifes a la criolla from El libro de Doña Petrona by Petrona C. de Gandulfo


¾ kg veal steaks

1 kg potatoes

1 tablespoon parsley, chopped

2 tomatoes

1 red pepper

1 onion

½ cup oil

salt

pepper

1 ladle spoon stock  or water

2 eggs (I completely forgot about them this time!)

 


Season the meat with salt and pepper.

Peel the potatoes and cut them into slightly thick slices.

Cut the tomatoes, the pepper and the onion into slices.

Heat the oil in a deep pan. Once it’s hot, take off the heat.

Start with a layer of steaks. On top of this put a layer of potato slices, then a layer of tomatoes, then a layer of onions and peppers and the parsley. Season with salt and pepper.

On top of this place another layer of schnitzels, another of potatoes and so on until the pan is full.

Season again, add the stock and leave on high heat for 10 minutes or so. Then lower the heat and simmer, covered, until the potatoes are cooked and the sauce has reduced.

Now is the time to whisk the eggs and add them to the pan. Leave for a few more minutes and serve hot.

 

Update:

Make a marinade with 4 cloves garlic, ½ tsp. chilli flakes, ½ tbsp. paprika, salt to taste, 1 cup vegetable oil and ½ cup vinegar. Marinade the steaks for at least an hour before cooking the dish.

2 thoughts on “Revolution

  1. Hi Jenn,
    Thanks for the birthday greetings! They are always welcome! I do hope you give this recipe a go and let me know how it turned out.

Leave a Reply

