A gift from Tibet

 

 

  

 

 

 

 

 

Yes, Tibet. Can you get any more exotic than that?

I bet you can’t.

This v. good friend of mine gave me an edible gift and whenever the gift is food-related (or simply, just food) I am elated. So when I got these berries I was over the moon.

 

 

 

 

  

 

I have to confess that I hadn’t heard about them before I got them.

Their taste is very subtle and in the pancakes you hardly taste them at all.

I got inspired to make mini pancakes with my wonderful panekkoeken pan which I bought in Amsterdam a while ago.

I have to say this pan is wonderful to make blinis as well.

 

 

I don’t really follow any recipe when I make pancakes, I normally play it by ear until the consistency is right. It is basically the same amount of flour and milk blended with as many eggs as necessary to get the right consistency, but for those who want it, here is a proper recipe with measures and all.

 

  

 

 

Basic Pancake Mix adapted from Todo Dulce by Maru Botana

 

4 eggs

1 cup plain flour

1 cup milk

pinch of sugar

 

Mix in a blender. Leave to stand in the fridge for 30 minutes before using. This is crucial if you don’t want to pancakes to crack.

To make the pancakes, grease a normal frying pan or this mini-pancake pan with butter and with the help of a ladle spoon enough mixture in each hole to make the pancakes.

Grease the pan every time you are going to make more pancakes.

 

Sun-dried Tibetan Goji berry mini-pancakes

 

To the basic pancake mixture, add the dried berries and leave to stand for 30 minutes in the fridge before using. The quantity is up to you.

 

 

·        Note: The Tibetan goji berries were a one-off for me and since it is quite likely you won’t have these in your store cupboard, you can substitute them for pretty much any type of berry you fancy (blueberries, raspberries, etc) or use the mixture plain and fill the pancakes later with the filling of your choice.

·        If you are going to use fresh instead of dried fruit, add it only when you are about to make the pancakes.

 

 

 

One thought on “A gift from Tibet

  1. Christmas lights « Traveling Wilbury’s Weblog

Leave a Reply

