Friend’s Day

Today we celebrate Friend’s Day in Argentina.

I had an early celebration this week because Julie and Buffy came to visit.



Having baked treats for Buffy, I couldn’t very well leave Julie without hers. Having found (quite by chance, actually) the madeleines mould that I had bought in France a while ago, I decided to bake some for her.
She told me later that madeleines are actually her favourites!

The irony is that with so many cookbooks, I actually had to go to the library opposite my regular supermarket to check the recipe for madeleines to make sure I had all the ingredients to make them.

As it happens, I couldn’t find it in Delia’s book, or Jamie’s or James Martin’s Desserts.

Nigella didn’t have a recipe for them either (yes, I know there is a recipe in How to be a Domestic Goddess but that one wasn’t around). Not even Joanne Harris’ The French Kitchen had a madeleines recipe and I almost took it for granted that I was going to find a recipe there.

Almost resigned, I picked up the last book around, which happened to be Bill’s Food by Bill Granger.

And yes, he does have a recipe for lemon madeleines for which I will be eternally grateful…


Bill’s Madeleines – adapted from a recipe by Bill Granger in Bill’s Food

5 eggs

200g/7 oz caster sugar

finely grated zest of 1 lemon (I had a lemon but I didn’t have any grater so I used 2 tbsp. honey instead)

200g/7 oz plain flour, sifted

1 tsp. baking powder

180g/6 oz unsalted butter, melted and cooled

Preheat the oven to 200°C/400F/gas 6.

Whisk the eggs and sugar until pale and fluffy, then mix in the lemon zest.

Add the flour, baking powder and butter and fold everything together.

Leave the mixture to rest for 5 minutes.

Spoon the mixture into a greased madeleines tray and bake for 8-9 minutes or longer depending on the sizes of the holes in your madeleine tray.

Note: please be GENEROUS when greasing the tray. This mixture is

very light and will stick to the moulds if they are not buttered

properly.


To all my friends, especially the ones that are far away from me today, I whish you a VERY HAPPY FRIEND’S DAY. I wish you were all with me so that we could share a tray of home-bake madeleines together but I promise to bake you a batch when I see you!


One thought on “Friend’s Day

  1. Good night, Seattle « Traveling Wilbury’s Weblog

Leave a Reply

