Eating and Having a Good Time

comer-y-pasarla-bien

 

I know I have been blogging a lot about books lately. This is partly because the charger for my digital camera has decided to go on holiday for a while (since my last move, actually). No charger means my digital toy is essentially dead so, no photos for a while.

Truth is, I have been wanting to blog about Narda’s book for a while. As I said before I am quite a late-comer for everything. I bought this book last year when I went on holidays to Argentina. It had been on the shelves since the year before.

People rightly say “the proof is in the pudding”. Well, I have now made several recipes from Narda’s book and they have proved a huge hit. There was the fish with capers I have blogged about before and recently I made the beetroot gnocci.

I fiddled with the recipe a bit. I didn’t have any goat’s cheese (nor did I feel like filling each one of them just for me) so I made unpretentious, normal gnocci this time. I will try them with goat’s cheese, though. I also have several ideas for other coloured gnocci (tomato, carrot, spinach…) which I will eventually try and blog about. I couldn’t find any raw beetroot either. Narda suggests baking them in salt so that they release most of their water. Since mine were already cooked (boiled, to be precise), I had to add A LOT of flour. And this is why they didn’t turn out dramatically purple but sort of pinkish instead. Ah, well.

The beauty of gnocci is that, although they are time-consuming, you can make the lot and then freeze them. They will sit quite happily in the freezer for a couple of months and you can boil them from frozen.

 

How to make:

Beetroot gnocci with goat’s cheese filling – adapted from Comer y Pasarla Bien by Narda Lepes

 

1.5 kg. beetroot (raw)
2 kg. sea salt
thyme
horseradish root, 1
2 kg. potatoes
plain flour, as needed
goat’s cheese

ghee

4 eggs

1 cup cream or sour cream

chopped parsley


Bake the beetroots in the oven at 180º C over a thick layer of sea salt for around 90 minutes. Bake the potatoes separately. Peel both and mash them also separately. Knead adding flour and 4 eggs until the dough becomes pliable and not sticky. The quantity of flour will depend of how much flour the dough will take, once the dough cannot take any more flour, stop adding to it. Shape the gnocci and fill each one with a tiny piece of goat’s cheese. Heat the pan with the thyme, salt and pepper. Separately whisk the cream and the horseradish.
Boil the gnocci in boiling water with sea salt.
Drain and season with the hot butter (ghee). Serve with a dollop of cream on top and decorate with chopped parsley or sautéed sage leaves.


2 thoughts on “Eating and Having a Good Time

  1. Hola Nora!
    Gracias por dedicarme la receta… Me emociono mucho y SI!!!!!!!!!!!!! Era esa la receta que buscaba. Domo arigatou gozaimashita!
    Gabriela

Leave a Reply

