Friends for brunch

 

 

 

It’s always a pleasure when friends come to visit. By a happy coincidence, both my dear friends Fernanda and Jane paid me a visit the same Saturday a few days ago.

I wanted to treat them to something special so I made olive bread and madeleines for them as it was, incredibly enough, the only mould I had handy after a recent move.

I had to give my old hand-whisker away as the whisking palettes got lost somewhere along the way and I only had the bread ones left so the madeleine success was all down to my woman-power and my left arm while catching up on Lost (I’m hooked up on it!). Those patisserie lessons last year proved invaluable as we were also made to do everything by hand.

These were going to be matcha madeleines. That is until I discovered that I had proper Japanese tea (in herbs) in my tin and not matcha powder. Still, I am surrounded by Japanese shops in Finchley so it’s only a matter of time before I make them ‘cause I like the idea very, very much.

Having a metal madeleines tray is not the most helpful thing in the world. I am desperately looking forward to getting a silicone one next time I go to France. It makes life just sooooo much easier.

On this occasion, I did half the recipe. Now, how do you measure half an egg I hear you saying? Just whisk it so that you have equal amount of egg yolk and egg white and then either weigh it or measure it in a jug and take half of it.

 

 

Chocolate Madeleines – © Gabriela R.

5 eggs

200g/7 oz caster sugar

200g/7 oz plain flour, sifted

1 tsp. baking powder

180g/6 oz unsalted butter, melted and cooled

50g cocoa powder

 

Preheat the oven to 200°C/400F/gas 6.

Whisk the eggs and sugar until pale and fluffy. Sieve together the flour, cocoa and baking powder. Add the melted butter to the egg and sugar mixture at the end.

Leave the mixture to rest for 5 minutes. This is important. The madeleines won’t be fluffy and puffed up if you forget this step. (I know why I’m telling you).

Spoon the mixture into a greased madeleines tray and bake for 8-9 minutes or longer depending on the sizes of the holes in your madeleine tray.

Note: please be GENEROUS when greasing the tray. This mixture is  very light and will stick to the moulds if they are not buttered properly. This may not be traditional but this time I oiled the tin mould with a brush and it worked like a charm.

Leave a Reply

