Replay

Those who read my blog know I don’t like to repeat myself. What I do like to do is to re-work a dish I particularly liked.

I have tons and tons of recipes to post about but I couldn’t wait to blog about this one, I liked it that much.

What I did for this one was to leaave the the pork overnight  in the same marinade I used for my Greek souvlaki and then I cooked the pork. If you’re pressed for time, you can omit this step, of course, and merely season the pork with salt and pepper but the marinade makes it… sublime.


Filet of pork wrapped in crunchy pancetta with sage and caramelized apples – © Gabriela R.


1 filet of pork per person

1 green apple per person

pinch of sugar

3 or 4 smoked pancetta or smoked bakon rashers

bunch of sage leaves


The day before you are going to make this dish, marinate the meat and leave it overnight in the fridge.

Peel the apple, quarter it and place it in a pan, big enough to hold the filets. Add a pinch of demerara sugar and sprinkle with very little water. Cook, covered, on very low heat.

In the meantime, lay the bacon rashers on a wooden board, scatter the sage leaves all over and place the pork filets on top. Wrap the pancetta around it, covering it completely.

Place the pork on top of the apples, cover the pan again and let it cook for 15-20 minutes (depending on the size of the filets and how thick they are. Remember the pork should always be well-done). The pork will cook in the steam generated inside.

I (just because I’m fussy) finish mine in the grill to crisp the bacon and making it crunchy and golden but you don’t have to.

You can also serve it with caramelized sweet potatoes and a green salad. I think pears will go really nice as an alternative for apples.

Leave a Reply

