Magic in the kitchen

I cannot begin to tell you how log it’s been since I’ve had warm garrapiñadas… I was longing to make them. And finally the time came.

I made them this morning and it made me think of why I am passionate about what I do for there is a bit of magic in the process. One minute you have all these nuts swimming in syrup, then sticky caramel when you start to wonder whether you’ve ruined the whole thing and then, there they are, in the blink of an eye everything is transformed.

But without further ado I leave you… THE RECIPE.


Garrapiñadas


For the syrup:


200ml water

200g caster sugar

150g nuts (I used a mix of walnuts, cashews and almonds but you can use pretty much anything you like including peanuts)

Put the water, sugar and nuts in a pan and stir over low heat with a wooden spoon until the water evaporates and the nuts are dressed in a beautiful coat of sugar.

That’s it.

Leave a Reply

