The One with Phoebe’s cookies

A good recipe is one that can stand the test of time. I find the same to be true for TV sitcoms. Friends is such a show. It is one you can watch over and over and laugh out loud as if you’ve never heard the jokes before.

These poor cookies don’t get baked very often because it wouldn’t be fair to, you know… the other cookies.

Phoebe: Ok, um, (clears throat) we haven’t known each other for that long a time, and, um, there are three things that you should know about me. One, my friends are the most important thing in my life, two, I never lie, and three, I make the best oatmeal raisin cookies in the world. (Phoebe opens a tin and offers Rachel a cookie)

Rachel: (taking cookie) Ok, thanks Pheebs (takes bite of cookie, overwhelmed) Oh my God, why have I never tasted these before?!

Phoebe: Oh, I don’t make them a lot because I don’t think it’s fair to the other cookies.

Rachel: All right, well, you’re right, these are the best oatmeal cookies I’ve ever had.

Phoebe: Which proves that I never lie.

Rachel: I guess you don’t.

Phoebe’s fabulous oatmeal raisin cookies adapted  from “Cooking with Friends”

Makes 24

       

12 tbsp. unsalted butter, softened

¾ cup finely packed brown sugar

1 large egg

1 tsp. vanilla extract

2 cups old-fashioned rolled oats

1 ¼ cup flour

¾ tsp. baking powder

¾ tsp. baking soda

¼ tsp. salt

1 ½ cup raisins

Preheat the oven to 375°F. Cream the butter and sugars with an electric mixer until light and fluffy, about 1’. Beat in the egg and vanilla extract until smooth.

Stir together the oat, flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt in a medium bowl. Stir the dry ingredients into the batter until just combined. Stir in the raisins.

Drop dough by heaping tbsp. onto 2 large baking sheets (no need to grease them) leaving 2 inches between each ball dough. Bake until the cookies are golden brown, 12-15’. Cool the cookies on sheets for several minutes then transfer to a rack to cool further.

Note: you can also freeze the dough in rolls and bake them from frozen as needed. Another idea is to add chocolate chip cookies to the dough.

Leave a Reply

