Stockholm!

 

I finally (FINALLY) went to Stockholm!

I have been wanting to go for years and years and I’m as pleased as punch that I did.

You know, living in London I guess I’m not that far away (not as far as if I  was living in Argentina in any case) but somehow I never got round to going there.

I suppose I can tick that off my ‘to do’ list now.

I only stayed for a few days but I managed to get a nice look around the city. And it tried as many Swedish specialities as I possibly could too!

 

One of the things they have was Toast Skagen or Skagen mix sandwich (you can see it in all its glory in the photo). The Swedes certainly love their fish! As they should because Stockholm is a city built on 14 islands so it’s surrounded by sea everywhere. I just fell in love with the city and I wouldn’t mind it in the least if life ever got me there and I had to live there for a while…

Skagen Mix is a classic Swedish recipe: a mayo-based sauce with shrimp and dill, “invented” by Tore Wretman who is one of the most famous Swedish chefs. He served it with toast, as in a Toast Skagen. This is found on menus all over Sweden (including as a baguette filling in many cafes), it’s an eternal classic appetizer.

His original recipe only had cooked shrimp, home-made mayonnaise and dill.

The name is something of a mystery. Skagen is the northern coast of Denmark’s largest island – and has nothing to do with Sweden.

This recipe comes via Anne’s blog, a Swedish girl through whom I learnt a lot about Sweden and Swedish food.

 

Skagen Mix
Two generous portions

3 tbsp mayonnaise
3 tbsp creme fraiche (low-fat is fine)
1 tbsp finely chopped dill
50 g bleak roe
500 g shrimp, unpeeled but cooked
½ red onion, finely diced
freshly ground white pepper

Peel the shrimp, and roughly chop them if you want to. (This is not the time to use jumbo shrimp, small ones will be better here.) Stir together the mayo and the creme fraiche or sour cream. Add the dill, roe, onion and white pepper. Add the shrimp. Mix well. Voila – you’re done! Serve with anything you’d like – it goes very well on toast, perfect in a ciabatta or in a baguette, excellent with baked potatoes or avocado.

The sandwich of the photo is a somewhat deconstructed version of it. Simply mayonnaise with boiled egg sliced and topped with a generous amount of cooked shrimp, red pepper rings, gherkins and some greens.

Leave a Reply

