Hotel Transylvania

Image

Or, more accurately garlic bread… chez moi. But not just any old garlic bread. For one, these are Russian rolls with a garlic glaze. For another, if you do them my way, they will also have a garlic heart to top. How about that?

I’ve been wanting to make pampushki (for that’s their real name) ever since I saw them included in the menu of the relatively new  Mari Vanna. Now, I have yet to visit that restaurant and sample their menu but the mere description of what a pampushki was (garlic bread roll) was sufficient to make me want to make them at home.

Last week I got my fortnightly box delivery from Abe & Cole. It has changed the way I eat for the better. You certainly don’t get veggies like that in the supermarket! Anyway, among the goodies I found a big fat garlic head (massive!) so I set to the task.

 

My thoughts on these little guys are the following:

 

I thought the dough was pretty much the standard bread dough (when you make it with milk). Personally, I like to use 50% milk and 50% water as that makes the dough less dense.

 

I also bumped across some versions where they “glazed” the pampushki in what appear to be Coca-Cola. I didn’t have any handy so I skipped that part.

 

Some recipes I found called for a garlic “sauce” or puree. I personally I like it a lot so I did some with some of the garlic puree inside the dough as well as outside. If you are going to make them with the garlic puree inside the dough, omit the salt when making the basic dough (the garlic puree has more than enough in it). If not, don’t forget to add it!

 

Basically, they are bread rolls with some aioli paste brushed on top.

 

ПАМПУШКИ (Pampushki)

 

Adapted and translated from the Russian by yours truly

 

For the pampushki you will need:

Yeast – 1 tsp.
Milk 250ml
Flour – 2 – 2.5 glasses (1 glass is 250ml)
Melted butter or oil – 2 tbsp
Sugar – 1 – 2 tsp.
Salt – 1 tsp.

For the garlic sauce you will need:

Garlic – 6 cloves
salt – 1 tsp

Melted butter – 1 tbsp
Water – 1 tbsp

 

For the starter:

 

Put the yeast, a pinch of sugar and a pinch of flour in a little bowl. Add a little tepid water. Cover with clingfilm and leave until it bubbles.

 

For the garlic paste:

 

Put 1-2 tbsp salt in the pestle and mortar. Add the garlic cloves and crush them in. Add a little melted butter (or oil) to amalgamate everything to a smooth paste. Set one half of the paste aside.

Add a little water and oil to the other half to make it runnier. Set aside.

 

Heat the milk, butter and sugar. Don’t let it boil. Set aside to cool a little.

 

Once the yeast has fermented, put the flour in a bowl or on a worktop. Make a well in the middle and add the starter and the milk with the melted butter inside. Knead well until you have a soft, elastic dough. Cover and leave until it doubles in size.

 

To make traditional pampushki:

 

Once the rolls have baked and are still warm from the oven, glaze the tops by holding them upside down and dipping them in the garlic paste.

 

To make my version:

 

Once the dough has risen for the first time, punch it down and add the other half of the garlic paste.  Form the rolls and leave to rise for a second time in the tray in which you will bake them. Glaze the tops with some egg yolk mixed with a little water. Bake in a moderate oven until the rolls sound hollow when tapped. Glaze with the garlic paste as above. Depending on how much you like garlic, you might find you need more than 6 garlic cloves for the garlic paste. For me 6 was more than enough.

 

Приятного вам аппетита!

Image

Leave a Reply

